home / Forums / Bodybuilding / Competitions and Events / erek Lunsford Wins 2023 Mr. Olympia — The First Ever Two-Division Olympia Champi

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Zillagreybeard Zillagreybeard 3 months, 1 week ago.

erek Lunsford Wins 2023 Mr. Olympia — The First Ever Two-Division Olympia Champi

Discussion in 'Competitions and Events' started by Zillagreybeard, Nov 22, 2023.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
1842 posts
  • Nov 22, 2023
  • 0

Derek Lunsford Wins 2023 Mr. Olympia — The First Ever Two-Division Olympia Champion
Lunsford is the 18th Mr. Olympia champion.

Written by Roger Lockridge
Last updated on November 8th, 2023

The Friday night prejudging round of the 59th Mr. Olympia contest concluded with the final callout of defending champion Hadi Choopan, Arnold Classic winner Samson Dauda, and 2021 Olympia 212 winner Derek Lunsford taking turns in the center of the group.

Now, the best Men’s Open bodybuilders in the world were back to determine who would hold up the Sandow Trophy in the main event of the Olympia in Orlando, FL. Steve Weinberger kicked the evening off with the confirmation round. Derek Lunsford was crowned the new Mr. Olympia, becoming the first-ever two-time Olympia division champion and the 18th Mr. Olympia.

[Tune In: 2023 Mr. Olympia Results — Live Updates & Coverage]

[Related: 2023 Amateur Olympia Results]

Callout One
Samson Dauda
Andrew Jacked
Hadi Choopan
Derek Lunsford
Brandon Curry
Hunter Labrada
Callout Two
Hassan Mostafa
Regan Grimes
Michal Krizanek
Tonio Burton
Charles Griffen
Andrea Presti

Callout Three
Phil Clahar
Theo Leguerrier
Roman Friz
Justin Shier
Callout Four
Andrew Jacked
Brandon Curry
Michal Krizanek
Hunter Labrada
Callout Five
Hadi Choopan
Derek Lunsford
Samson Dauda
The top six began the round with full comparisons. The rest of the field followed in the following callouts. Order changes were made in each group. The final comparison featured the same three who closed prejudging.

As the other athletes watched the screens and stage, Dauda started in the middle for a round of poses, then Choopan, and finally Lunsford. The round ended with no clear front-runner and a loud ovation from the crowd, which included Shaquille O’Neal and Olympia Ambassador Dave Bautista.

The top 10 performed their individual routines in the following order: Jacked, Krizanek, Dauda, Burton, Grimes, Lunsford, Griffen, Labrada, Curry, and Choopan.

Before the awards were announced, Lunsford would receive the 2023 People’s Champion title and belt — a fan vote award.

[Related: 8-Time Mr. Olympia Lee Haney to Hadi Choopan: To Repeat, Play Your Own Game]

2023 Mr. Olympia Results
Derek Lunsford — $400,000
Hadi Choopan — $175,000
Samson Dauda — $100,000
Brandon Curry — $40,000
Andrew Jacked — $35,000
2023 Olympia Results
Andrea Shaw Wins 2023 Ms. Olympia, Scoring Fourth Consecutive Title
2023 Wellness Olympia Prejudging Results
Sarah Villegas Wins 2023 Women’s Physique Olympia, Reclaiming the Crown
Cydney Wins 2023 Figure Olympia, Scores Seventh Consecutive Title
Keone Pearson Wins 2023 212 Olympia
Oksana Grishina Wins 2023 Fitness Olympia
Jennifer Dorie Wins 2023 Bikini Olympia
Ryan Terry Wins 2023 Men’s Physique Olympia
Chris Bumstead Wins Fifth Classic Physique Title at 2023 Olympia
Featured image: @mrolympiallc on Instagram


Chris Bumstead Wins Fifth Classic Physique Title at 2023 Olympia

2023 Mr. Olympia Results — Live Updates & Coverage

2023 Olympia Results — Complete Official Scorecards



Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Recent forum posts:
Durro replied 1 hour, 12 minutes ago
Durro replied 5 hours, 7 minutes ago
burstfadehc replied 8 hours ago